Slowing Down

As I rush from task to task, trying to stay ‘productive’, I am reminded of how easily one makes mistakes when rushing.

In our culture of instant gratification and the 24-hour news cycle, however, the idea that complex decisions take time – must be taken only after careful deliberation – seems to have been lost.

Since we are all connected to each other in countless ways, we expect that we should be able to demand as much from each other as if we were in face-to-face contact with all those who we are (only) virtually connected with.

Imagine if you had to take the time to walk to someone’s house every time you wished to talk to them.

Imagine if you could harness the power of inter-connectedness that technology has afforded us, and use it to think about the sheer number of different ways of doing things there are for any given situation.  On a regular basis in reading various philosophical works, I come across a concept that, if carried to its logical conclusion and consistently applied to my life, would (does) change the way I live and interact with those around me, often for the better.

The irony is, the reason I have the time to pursue such topics is precisely because I have (next to) no ‘important’ decisions or responsibilities that keep me tied to a chair (in the metaphoric sense) with my nose to the grindstone, striving to be endlessly productive.

Leave a Reply

